Citizen Advisory Committee

The Citizen Advisory Committee, established in 1967, acts as an independent representative and advocate on behalf of current and potential customers of public transportation in the five-county region of Southeastern Pennsylvania and the contiguous areas served by SEPTA. CAC members are active SEPTA riders.

The by-laws establish the committee’s concerns as:

  • Quality of service, including reliability and frequency, speed, cleanliness, safety, and security
  • Fares
  • Policies
  • Financing and planning
  • Accountability of SEPTA and other governmental agencies that affect public transportation for the regions served by SEPTA

The CAC is composed of an executive board and two committees:

  1. The Transit Subcommittee, which focuses on buses, trolleys and subway/elevated services.
  2. The Rail Subcommittee, which focuses on regional rail service.

The committees convene at the monthly plenary meeting to discuss committee plans, findings, activities, etc., and to hear from SEPTA officials, who often attend to discuss transportation topics and initiatives that may affect transit customers.

CAC members are expected to attend all plenary meetings and one subcommittee meeting of their choosing each month.

See the member bios in the CAC Documents below.

Executive Committee

Chairperson: Tariem Burroughs, Philadelphia County
Regional Rail Vice Chairperson: Teresa Duncan, Philadelphia County
Transit Vice Chairperson: Jacob Schneider, Philadelphia County
Secretary: Kadafi El-Kardah and Sasha Mendez, Philadelphia County

Bucks County

  • Vacant

Chester County

  • Vince Romano, first term

Delaware County

  • Alfred Achtert, second term
  • Joi Dariel Washington, first term
  • Nigel Davis, second term
  • Michael Robinson, GM/CEO appointee, third term

Montgomery County

  • Kelly Devine, first term
  • Linda Hee, GM/CEO appointee, second term
  • Michael Thompson, first term

Philadelphia County

  • Caroll Drazen, second term
  • Domonique McClendon, third term
  • Erin Busbee, second term
  • Eugene Hsue, second term
  • Jacob Schneider, third term
  • Jay Shifman, first term
  • Jeff Friedman, first term
  • Kadafi El-Kardah, second term
  • Michael Schwebel, first term
  • Peter Brown, first term
  • Raina Yancey, third term
  • Tariem Burroughs, third term
  • Teresa Duncan, second term


  • John Bartle, Bucks County
  • Mason Carter, Immediate Past Chair, Philadelphia
  • Norman Marcus, Montgomery County
  • Paul J. Drucker, Chester County

Applications are being accepted for Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery counties. Applications for Philadelphia are currently closed.

To apply for membership, read the by-laws, review the eligibility and responsibility information, download the PDF version, fill it out and mail it to:

SEPTA Customer Service and Advocacy
1234 Market Streets, 10th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19107

The by-laws and PDF application form are available in the committee’s document repository.


To be eligible for membership, a person must be a resident of the county from which appointment is made and a regular user of the SEPTA system (used daily for commuting to work, school, or other ongoing types of daily trips, or if not daily, a frequent rider).

Other eligibility requirements include:

  • Commitment to collaborative engagement to improve public transit service in the Region. Selection is based upon other criteria, including (but not limited to) familiarity with public sector finance, business finance, transportation operations, regulatory governance, community volunteerism, and demonstrated commitment to serve the public interest.
  • Individuals being considered for appointment by the City of Philadelphia should have demonstrated participation in community volunteer efforts and cannot have any outstanding taxes due.


  • A working knowledge of the Philadelphia metropolitan area.
  • Active interest in public transportation.
  • Commitment to not less than 10 hours per month devoted to the duties of the position, which include (at minimum), attendance at the monthly plenary meeting, attendance at a monthly committee meeting, attendance at county caucus meetings, the review of SEPTA materials (as assigned) and self-directed interaction with members of the constituent groups within the county of appointment
  • Advocacy for SEPTA and making efforts to participate in local discussions related to how public transit is perceived and the quality of transit services in the local communities where it operates.

Duties and Responsibilities

Members will:

  • Work with CAC leadership on special projects selected in consultation with the SEPTA General Manager.
  • Read and understand the bylaws of the CAC.
  • Members are encouraged to regularly (at least every two weeks) report to SEPTA via its customer service office (telephone, email, live Chat) phone number any observations, positive or negative, where managerial action is needed to improve operations or customer service.
  • Consult with the CAC Chair before independently discussing with the media, or using various social media forums, on matters related to SEPTA planning or operations.
  • Participate in one of two standing committees -Rail Road and Transit Subcommittees and at least one ad hoc committee, Nominations, Media/Public Relations or Transit Appreciation Day.
  • Attend or host, in conjunction with SEPTA Government and Public Affairs Department, local community meetings to discuss issues related to transit and their community. Members are encouraged to identify neighborhood transit advocates and leaders interested in learning more about SEPTA service, operations and capital improvements.

Term Limits

  • Membership is limited to three consecutive terms of two years per term.
  • SEPTA requires a two-year period to elapse, from the expiration date of a third consecutive term before consideration may be given for reappointment.



Correo electrónico:
Teléfono (215) 580-7800


See the schedule of posted meetings.

The CAC meets virtually. Plenary meetings start at 5:30 pm the last Tuesday of the month unless the date coincides with a SEPTA holiday schedule, in which case a special date will be set. The board does not meet in August.

The plenary meetings are open to the public. If you are interested in attending, send your name, affiliation and email address to A meeting link will be provided no later than noon on the day of the meeting.